The Jurisdiction of Saint-Emilion


  • Saint-Émilion


    To know more about
      An architectural gem…   A magnificent medieval town surrounded by ramparts (listed historic monument), the town is famous not only for its unique architectural heritage, but also for the quality of its wines. Saint-Emilion has numerous listed historic buildings as well as ones on the supplementary inventory of historic monuments. There are also over 200 kilometres of underground galleries criss-crossing the basement of the town.
  • Saint-Laurent-des-Combes


    To know more about
      THE GREEN LUNG OF THE JURISDICTION   Presentation of the town Saint-Laurent-des-Combes is a municipality of 259 inhabitants, being part of Saint Emilion Jurisdiction. It is located 3 km southeast of Saint-Emilion on high land of 300 m, its surface area is 386 hectares. Its inhabitants are called the Saint-Laurentais.   A little history... The name 'Combes' commemorates the "Cumbis" forest (Greek root "Kumbe" meaning cavity) in which the monk Emilion would had set up his hermiatge at the time of the Saracens back in the 8th century. Saint-Laurent-des-Combes took part in some great moments in the history of France. On May 15, 1814 took place a big party in honor of the return of King Louis XVIII and the presence of the Duke of Angoulême in the department, on this occasion: "The white flag is raised. A solemn Mass with the Te Deum is celebrated. A banquet unites the inhabitants. In the evening there were dances and the town is illuminated. "   Village life was located mainly around the village church, but during the second half of the 19th century, it moved to the foot of the hill with the arrival of the railway.   The town was marked by several famous people: Jean de Foix, brother of King Louis XII, with the Chateau Candale. Raymond Theodore Troplong, Senate President (1852-1869), and the Chateau Troplong Mondot. Professor Jean-Louis Faure, member of the Academy of Medicine, with the Chateau Bellefont-Blecier, bequeathed in 1918 to the municipality 18 hectares of forest in order to make it the "green lung" of the Jurisdiction. Or, the doctor-general René Labusquiere, grand-son of Jean-Louis Faure, a giant in tropical medicine.   A hilly natural heritage ... Exceptional site formed by a succession of valleys, the town offers magnificent views from the edge of the limestone plateau where stands the Romanesque church. From its square, there is a good view across the Dordogne valley.   Saint-Laurent-des-Combes has some streams, the main one is the Beuran Creek located 19 meters above sea level. The town has a relatively limited area of ​​38 hectares of wood. This area, particularly sensitive and showing a remarkable biological interest, has allowed in 1991 to include the municipality to the  Inventory of Natural Areas of Ecological Interest, Fauna and Flora (ZNIEFF).   Saint-Laurent-des-Combes is part of the Jurisdiction of Saint-Emilion, which was declared World Heritage by UNESCO as "cultural landscape". The landscapes of valleys and hills following one another, and its harmonious nesting, fully justifies this registration. Hiking trails allow to explore thelandscapes of vineyards, woods and rural heritage.   Vineyards… All over its territory, Saint-Laurent-des-Combes can produce wines of several appellations of Bordeaux, such as the Bordeaux and Bordeaux Supérieur. But above all, the vineyard is in the territory of the Jurisdiction of Saint-Emilion, under the appellations of AOC Saint-Emilion and Saint-Emilion Grand Cru; therefore they are the wine mainly produced there. Several of its vineyard properties are part of the circle of Grands Cru Classés and Premiers Grands Cru of Saint Emilion. More informations about the vineyard of Saint-Emilion, here.   Points of interest: The viewof the Dordogne Valley from the front of the Church. Several bicycle and hiking routes have been realized by the Tourist Office of Greater Saint-Emilion Area passing through Saint-Laurent-des-Combes: Rando - road terroirsVelo- Dordogne Valley and its vineyardsCycling - Road remarkable architecturesCycling - Between vineyards and DordogneThe routes can be downloaded here.   Contact the municipality of Saint-Laurent-des-Combes: Peyrelongue 22 - 33330 ST LAURENT DES COMBES Tel + 33 5 57 24 71 95 / Fax + 33 5 57 24 69 38 @:  Open: Monday / Tuesday / Thursday / Friday: 9:00 am to 12:30 pm / 2:00 pm to 6:00 pm.
  • Saint-Christophe-des-Bardes


    To know more about
      Village of beautiful houses…   This commune is located on the Saint-Émilion plateau. Beautiful old manor houses and châteaus (Laroque, Peyrau, Cantin, etc.) dot its 769 hectares. The town has a Romanesque church with a 12th century great door. It boasts many listed buildings, and the church is on the supplementary inventory of historic monuments.
  • Saint-Pey d'Armens

    Saint-Pey d'Armens

    To know more about
      A commune on the former royal road…   This village on the former royal road from Libourne to Castillon has a noteworthy church and a remarkable 16th century cross in the cemetery (listed monument). Beautiful manor houses abound, such as Château Saint-Pey and Château Fourney (built by the famous architect Victor Louis in the 18th century). 
  • Saint-Etienne-de-Lisse


    To know more about
      A rendez-vous with History in 1453…   This delightful little village has a rich architectural heritage, including a 12th century church on the supplementary inventory of historic monuments. Overlooking the town is Château de Pressac (dating from the 14th century), where the English surrendered to the French at the end of the Hundred Years’ War. There is a magnificent view of the entire Dordogne Valley from the Croix du Touran (picnic area).
  • Saint-Sulpice de Faleyrens

    Saint-Sulpice de Faleyrens

    To know more about
      Between a standing stone and the Dordogne…   Located on the Saint-Émilion plain, this commune borders on the Dordogne and therefore has fauna and flora typical of an environment with rich alluvial soil. It also features a 12th century Romanesque church on the supplementary inventory of historic monuments as well as beautiful wine châteaux (Lescours, Monbousquet, etc.). Bearing witness to the area’s ancient history, Saint-Sulpice de Faleyrens is also proud of its 5 metre tall menhir, or standing stone (on the supplementary inventory of historic monuments).
  • Saint-Hippolyte


    To know more about
      The mysteries of the Jurisdiction…   The small winding road overlooking part of the Jurisdiction’s woods and vineyards leads to the Ferrand plateau. This features a château dating from the 16th-17th centuries as well as a Romanesque church. The Ferrand caves are not far away. These were altered in the 17th century.
  • Vignonet


    To know more about
      A village on the Dordogne…   Located on the banks of the Dordogne, Vignonet is in the southern part of the Jurisdiction. The commune includes several hamlets scattered on the plain. The village church has furnishings that are quite unusual for the region. There is also a beautiful view of the vine covered slopes of the Jurisdiction and the town of Saint-Émilion. Possibility to picnic on the banks of the River Dordogne.
  • Saint-Emilion / GPS Audio Guide

    Saint-Emilion / GPS Audio Guide

    To know more about